The Fragile Army review by The Polyphonic Spree

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 19, 2007
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8 (6 votes)
The Polyphonic Spree: The Fragile Army

Sound — 10
The sound is great as ever for the Spree's third attempt at a full album. The symphonic pop group's instrumentation and vocals sound tighter than ever. This is more of a rock departure, for instance Section 23 (Get Up and Go) starts off with some really catchy guitar riffs. The tracks are great, up beat, and some are very mellow and hold their mood very well. Tim's voice still isn't the best, but most have gotten over this, and as long as you just love to sing along, it's fine! Also, most people wouldn't realize by just listening a little, but the Spree's drum parts have always been really well done, and this record is no exception. Overall, any fan of the Spree's will be very, very happy with this record, it's exactly what we've been waiting for.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics are wonderful, just like the other to albums. Tim paints a wonderful picture for the mind with the way his voice translates the words he sings. The happiness is still really well done, and it's about getting over things which every one can appeal to. The lyrics have an appeal unmatchable by most artists these days. They're not just meant for happy people like you would think, they're meant for anyone who needs happiness.

Overall Impression — 10
All 24, uniform and robe donning members of this symphonic pop orchestra (which appears to be, but is not a cult) does excellent work on this record. I love it just as much, if not more than the other works by this phenomenal group, and I highly suggest it.

8 comments sorted by best / new / date

    yeah they were in scrubs. they performed light and day. it was quite cool.