Broken Boy Soldiers review by The Raconteurs

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 15, 2006
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.8 (106 votes)
The Raconteurs: Broken Boy Soldiers

Sound — 9
A very spacy feel througout the whole album. The entire thing makes you feel as if you are there. Voices in the background and echo give this an ambience that has nice big feel, whilst still feeling tight. Jack's vocals are top notch, but are a bit weak on songs like "Yellow Sun", where it is very difficult to tell wether itis Jack, Brendan, or both, singing during some of it. Brendan Benson also shines here, as a bass player and as a singer, but can be washed out by Jack's higher pitch. The songs are a very mixed bag. The title track is a very "Bron-Yr Stomp" esque song with a darker twist. It has a very eastern feel to it. Not to say it doesn't have it's "get-up-and-jump" moments, with songs like "Hands" and "Steady As She Goes", there is plenty for everybody. All in all, it has an amzing sound quality, as well as many different genres combined into one. It makes for a pretty good mix, a little for every mood. The only real complaint is that it feels short, like the songs could have been a bit longer, or maybe two or three more tracks could have done it.

Lyrics — 8
Lyrics are typical of Jack. They realy roll well with the rest of the music, and flow rather nicely. The lyrics are mostly about love, from what I can decipher, and work well. Jack delivers them amazingly, with his higher voice, very similar to that of Robert Plant (of Led Zeppelin, he delivers with much gusto. Benson also does well, but he feels more like backing vocals on a few songs.

Overall Impression — 9
Although often compared to The White Stripes, The Raconteurs bring a wonderful set of songs to the album. The music has a more clean feel than that of the Stripes. The best choice picks in my oppinion are "Level" and "Broken Boy Soldiers" are the top tracks on the disc by far. Overall a great album, with lots of highs, and very few lows, it is a solid effort by Jack, Brendan and Co.

4 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Baltic Ave.
    I love this cd! It's a very short record, but it's got awesome synth (Level), awesome guitar (Hands and Steady, As She Goes), awesome keyboard (Store Bought Bones), and awesome lyrics (Intimate Secretary). It's like imperfect, but sooo perfect. If that makes sense.