The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus review by The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.4 (7 votes)
The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus: The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus

Sound — 8
The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus (the album) is first, self titled album of the band the Red Jumpsuit Apparatus. It includes 13 tracks and was released in 2004. It features many early versions of songs that were included in their major label debut album "Don't You Fake It." Many just renamed or remastered. Some of the songs are rumored to be included on their next major album. The music style of the Apparatus is very dynamic. They include a wide range of sound. They have songs like "Cat and Mouse" and "The Acoustic Song" (Your Guardian Angel) that just make you want to tear your heart out. Then they have other songs such as "Disconnected" that make you want to get up and start dancing.

Lyrics — 9
Ronnie Winter, the lead singer, wrote all of the lyrics from this album. They were based on all real events that Winter has experienced. To describe the lyrics, they are very real and down to earth and just make you think. The music is your basic guitar, bass, and drums. There is a lot of double tracking also. Ronnie's voice has a great range. He can hit the high notes as well as the very low ones. His voice is suited perfectly for all of the songs.

Overall Impression — 10
Pretty much this album was a great start for the band. All of the tracks seem very well put together and proportioned. The songs are written beautifully and they flow very well together. Plus, there are many catch choruses and bass lines that can really get you hooked on the band. The most impressive songs on this album would be "Getting By" and "Kins and Carroll". Neither of which were featured on their major label debut, which is quite disappointing. The only downside to this whole record is that some songs are very roughly edited and you can not really tell what's going on. Other than that it is a very good record. If you listen to this one and you like it, I suggest picking up "Don't You Fake It" as well.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date

    just downloaded this cd and i have to say it is so much better than dont you fake it and the lonely road