A Bigger Bang review by The Rolling Stones

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 6, 2005
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.3 Good
  • Users' score: 8.2 (47 votes)
The Rolling Stones: A Bigger Bang

Sound — 6
Pretty good, but the production failed to live up to their previous efforts. The vocals often sound flat and the guitar solos sound grey and unengaging. The sound works best on tracks like "Infamy" - my personal favorite on the album, Keith's vocals actually sounding better than Mick's efforts.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics on Sweet Neo Con were awesome, a step upwards from all the political "punk" (Greenday, NOFX etc.) that's been going around recently, and "She Saw Me Coming" has an awesome, shout-along chorous. There's no "Sister Morphine" or "Midnight Rambler" on this album, but generally the lyrics are pretty good.

Overall Impression — 8
Good but not great. Buy it if you've got all the RS classics, but for begginers, I recommend "40 Licks." No track on the album is bad, but none of the songs have the energy of The Stones in their '70s heyday.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date