A Bigger Bang review by The Rolling Stones

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 6, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.2 (47 votes)
The Rolling Stones: A Bigger Bang

Sound — 10
Somehow the Stones draw from their primal '60s well, and serve up neat mostly clean rythms & energetic blues the envy of their grandchildren's prime! At times they actually re-scale the pinacle to replace their old flag with a shiny new one, pretenders take note. Who else has the sheer power, sophistication, raw energy, stamina of these Sphaggeti Western Olympians Of Rock? Exactly! Stand outs are power tracks Dangerous Beauty, Oh No, Not You and Over In A Minute; with Rain Fall Down and Laugh, I Nearly Died sheer delight.

Lyrics — 8
Lyrics are free and relatively sophisticated, subtle yet to the point, classic Jagger. The lyrics and the music are seamless on the stand out tracks. Micks on his best form since the mid '70s.

Overall Impression — 10
Overall a few filler apart (Neo Con, Driving Too Fast, Let Me Down Slow) all Mick's tracks are full bore Stones. Of Kieth's, Infamy's perhaps his best since Main Offender.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date