Believers review by The Skeptic

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 6.9 (7 votes)
The Skeptic: Believers

Sound — 9
This is a band that has been bouncing around the Southeast Michigan scene for a couple months and made some very large waves in the process. They are all really young and after listening to the EP, your mind will be blown that they are still in high school. The production quality is astronomical on 4 of the 5 tracks. The only one that was slightly lacking is "Goodnight And Good Luck" where the guitars in the first breakdown sound a bit off. But, seeing as this was the first song they ever recorded, it's actually very impressive. The guitarists are more than up to the task and do not ever ceasing to impress. The drummer is great and uses the double bass pedal to add effect. There is no keyboardist in the band, so the techno effects are used sparingly and at the right moments. It's always welcome and never used like Attack Attack, where they sound like a spazz attack. Overall, it's catchy, it's loud, and it sounds great.

Lyrics — 9
Lyrics... They're very cliche with most of the hardcore today, but considering that this is high schoolers, it's still impressive. Like from "Cuddle Train": "Whatever happened to honor? Whatever happened to dignity? Whatever happened to us?" The vocals are where this EP really grabs the bull by the horns. Nick (the main screamer) is a great screamer and a good clean vocalist as well. And to answer any questions of doubt, no, Andrew doesn't use an auto-tuner, he is THAT good. His clean vocals are beyond fantastic and probably the two tracks that show his skills are "Mario>Bowser" and "Cuddle Train". If you were to flip on the radio, you would be hard pressed to find a singer on there with half as much talent as Andrew.

Overall Impression — 9
To say they sound similar to bands like Woe, Is Me, and A Bullet For Pretty Boy would be doing a major disservice. They surpass them in most of the songs off their 5 song, first EP... That they made in high school. Join the bandwagon now for these guys, because they will be taking off soon. While this is a great EP, it's 5000x better live. If you live anywhere near Michigan come see them. At most shows, they're better than the act they open for. All the tracks are more than good, but "Cuddle Train", "Mario>Bowser" and "Everybody Love Everybody" are the best. It's a fun little $5 EP that will leave you begging for a full length.

2 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I live in Michigan, got a huge open mind (when I'm not making fun of the obvious), but I don't think there's ANY Post-Hardcore/Electronic BAND (much less EP) that deserves a 9. Good news is you peaked my interest to give them a listen.
    Going to see these guys Friday night, it's they're last show with their screamer D: