Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness review by The Smashing Pumpkins

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 24, 1995
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.7 (92 votes)
The Smashing Pumpkins: Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness

Sound — 10
This album is a perfect soundtrack to life and Smashing Pumpkins new this when they published the 2 disc album with the titles "Dawn To Dusk" and "Twilight To Starlight." The album sounds so original with crisp chilled out songs and gritty heavy songs, the way the songs run into each other and change moods so immediatly is a highlight of this album because it fits, this is noticable when "Tonight, Tonight" meets with the epic "Jellybelly" then youll find you have yourself the album!

Lyrics — 10
Billy Corgan hits home with gloomy and reflective lyrics that shows himself in true form and adds his vocal talent of having a scarred voice that has the impression of jazz music where "it doesn't go right but it fits perfectly!" He gives the songs a mystical and dream like feel thats so soar but lucid at the same time.

Overall Impression — 10
I love listening to the second CD at night because it is so calming and soothing that its what doctors should give for a good nights sleep, where as the first album is the "fury" CD that makes you feel much better when your angry. The greatest songs on the album would be Zero, JellyBelly, Where Boys Fear To Tread, Bodies, XUY, Tonight, Tonight and 1979. If this album were stollen I would cut off the guys fingers, or buy it again, deffinently! If you don't already have this album I insist you should get it because its a landmark in rock history.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date