Based On A True Story review by The Starting Line

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 10, 2005
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 2
  • Overall Impression: 4
  • Reviewer's score: 4.7 Poor
  • Users' score: 10 (6 votes)
The Starting Line: Based On A True Story

Sound — 8
This CD is basically all pop-punk. There are a lot of catchy riffs and creative chord progressions throughout the whole CD. All the music is very bright and melodic. The musicianship is excellent (for a pop-punk band). The guitarists in this band probably make up one of the best guitar duos in pop-punk. Both guitars always sound well with each other.

Lyrics — 2
Unfortunately, the lyrics on this album are absolutely horrible. On the band's previous CD (Say It Like You Mean It), the lyrics are very well written and sung. This CD is a totally different story. The singer has a distinctively bright voice that is a perfect compliment to the rest of the music, but I think that he tried to make his lyrics sound more "tough" on this cd and still used his bright voice. So basically what you have is bright, happy music singing lines like "I'm gonna tear your ass up like you just got married" and "Harder than a drama, softer than a porn." It just doesn't fit to me.

Overall Impression — 4
I wish that The Starting Line had stuck with their old themes and lyrics. I was a huge fan of their album Say It Like You Mean. It was excellent and this album just doesn't compare. The musicianship is good, but the lyrics just really tear this album down. The problems with the lyrics are hard for me to explain, but if you listen to this CD, I think you'll definately see what I mean. I personally find this CD as nothing more than a pathetic, failed attempt for a pop-punk band to gain some respect. I would never buy this album again. However, I have read a lot of articles on Absolute Punk that reviewed this album very well, so it must sound good to some people. I think that if you're the type of person who pays no attention to lyrics and only to music then you would like this CD, but if you pay even the slightest attention to lyrics do not buy this album. You will regret it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date