First Impressions of Earth review by The Strokes

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 30, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.2 (188 votes)
The Strokes: First Impressions of Earth

Sound — 10
The unorthodox design and aura of First Impressions of Earth (FIOE) is ridiculously amazing. The pulling away from the conventional Strokes - esque style found in their debut album Is This It is phenomenal. The awesomness of vocally-gifted singer Julian Casablancas, complexer (relative to their first two albums) guitar styling of Nick Valensi (rhythm) and Albert Hammond, Jr. (lead), is surprisingly wonderful. And the whimsical styles of the album leave you experiencing unbelievably shaking eargasms for 52 minutes and 19 seconds.

Lyrics — 10
Julian Casablancas never failed to impress on Is This It And Room On Fir, and FIOE is no different. From his peppy, high pitch and optimistic tone in "You Only Live Once" to his melancholy, nasal crooning in "Heart in a Cage" is yet another exemplification of the singer's remarkable vocal range. The lyrics are great as well. Sadly, the pricks who run the Recording Industry Association Of America (RIAA) believed that the album was too profane to keep The Strokes' clean sheet unmarked. FIOE is the first album by The Strokes to don a Parental Advisory Label, due to the use of "f--king" (non-sexually), "hell", "shit", "pissed", and "asshole" - which is less coarse than Room on Fire's use of "f--k" and "shit" twice apiece.

Overall Impression — 10
Compared to 2001's Is This It and 2003's Room On Fire, critics believe that The Strokes have been freefalling in quality. (And their 2011 album Angles wasn't loved that much either - check out The Guardian's [] disgusting review of it). But the direction that The Strokes are going in is very great. Their expansion of styles - styles which were limited to the formulaic garage rock and capped quasi-indie format of Is This It - is superb. I'm glad The Strokes are bound to a 5-record contract with RCA because if what they're capable of doing is anything like FIOE (the third in that 5-CD contract, with Angles [2011] being the fourth), then I can't wait for their fifth release - and their sixth, and their seventh, and their eighth, and their ninth...

0 comments sorted by best / new / date