Danza IIII: The Alpha - The Omega review by The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 15, 2012
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.3 (6 votes)
The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza: Danza IIII: The Alpha - The Omega

Sound — 9
Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza has finally came to an end. With Jessie "Danza" Freeland and Josh Travis (handling guitar, bass, and drum duties on this album) left as the only members of the chaotic, 8 string band, "The Alpha - The Omega" serves as a great album to end the band on. The production is great, mixing in Josh's 8 string madness flawlessly with the other instruments while Jessie's vocals cutting through everything like a hot knife to butter. The songwriting has changed a bit, with a focus more on ambient elements through out the 15 song album and Josh holding back the urge to play a million notes for the sake of playing a million notes. There are still some crazy and awesome moments through out the album, but it's more on the vocals which we'll get to in a bit.

Compare to their older albums, this is album is noticeable tamer and more melodic in a lot of sense but Josh's skills do shine through. "Paul Bunyan And The Blue Ox" is a seven minute instrumental of him basically just going crazy on his guitar yet never shying away from melody when the opportunity presents itself. Some of the old craziness does show through at times, like in "Don't Try This At Home", "Ruby X3", and "You Won't". Sometimes they get too crazy and thought it was a great idea to put "Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid" which is nothing more than a glitchy mess of sound half way through it and place in a spot that kills the momentum of the album.

Lyrics — 7
The vocals provided by Jessie in this album are up to standard par for the band. With some interesting delivers on songs like "Death Eater" and "This Cut Was The Deepest", Jessie delivers a solid performance on each track. The most interesting part though is the guest vocals on the album. The guest appearances on the title track by both Phil Bozeman (Whitechapel) and Alexandre Erian (ex-Despised Icon, Obey The Brave) is pretty impressive and is one of the top tracks of the album. On "Don't Try This At Home" Josh joins Jessie and shows off his screaming abilities, with rapid fire delivery and a certain uniqueness to his screams that makes me wish he did vocals more for the band.

Lyrically, nothing sticks out as bad, but nothing great at the same time. "This Cut Was The Deepest" is Danza's love song, with the chorus on the boarder line of heartfelt and cheesy with lines like "As long as I can see your face/I'll get lost with you in this place." If Jessie's delivery wasn't solid, that song could have been one of the weakest on the album without a doubt. In the end, the lyrics do their job, but just enough that you won't be distracted by them.

Overall Impression — 8
With plenty of stand out tracks, "The Alpha - The Omega" is great album for Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza to go out on. Even though the samples they use can get annoying (almost some type of sample is used in every other song), most of the songs themselves are strong as a bull and as heavy as a wrecking ball. The only weak songs are "Some Things Are Better Left Unsaid", "Hold The Line", and "Canadian Bacon" with the later two being the least interesting songs on their own and having minute long samples attached to the end of them.

For the fans like myself, they won't find themselves disappointed with this album. For everyone else, check out "Don't Try This At Home" and "The Alpha The Omega" as they will give you a great idea of what this band is about and what this album has to offer. With that, Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza leaves behind an album they can be proud of.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date