Under Blackpool Lights [DVD] review by The White Stripes

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Dec 7, 2004
  • Sound: 7
  • Content: 7
  • Production Quality: 7
  • Overall Impression: 6
  • Reviewer's score: 6.8 Neat
  • Users' score: 9.5 (42 votes)
The White Stripes: Under Blackpool Lights [DVD]

Sound — 7
The DVD gives a real insight into the band's power. Meg White's constant drumming keeps the train of Jack White's driving guitar riffs and interesting vocals chugging along, For anyone who doubts the energy of the White Stripes live performance. Sit down, chuck this DVD on and get ready to play air guitar. The DVD documents a live performance made in 2004 by The White Stripes. The trademark Red, Black and White colour scheme is maintained in the lighting, instruments and clothes of the two band members. In the DVD Jack White uses a Whammy pedal for soloing, which gives it an interesting pitch. What I brought away from this DVD was the incredible force behind the live preformance, and the amount of energy that both the members put into their Live Performances.

Content — 7
The DVD is filmed it seems, half on analog video and half on digital. With the warm fuzziness of the analog tape giving the slower songs a deeper energy. The sound quality is excellent, with the vocals coming in nicely over the fuzzy overdriven guitar and the simple drums. The songlist contains a wide range of their songs ranging from the Rock and roll stylings of songs like, Black Math and 'Hardest Button to Button.' To slower mellow songs such as 'I Fought Pirahnas' and 'Truth Doesn't Make a Noise.' Which all sound brilliant live.

Production Quality — 7
The production quality in this DVD is very good. You can tell that they have spent a lot of time editing and tweaking the camera angles to make it look really good, and not like some amateur bootleg. There is quite a lot of camera angles and close ups that are quite innovative and show the skill of the cameramen. The camera work is definitely not as amateurish as some live DVDs can be, with steady close ups and large sweeps of the audience.

Overall Impression — 6
With a total of twenty-six tracks, this DVD is a great buy for any Stripes fan, especially if you want to get a feel for what they are like live. You will find yourself getting up adn dancing around the room at points, and make sure you turn it up loud to really appreciate the power behind the music.

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    hah I can play death letter *sits back and smiles smugly* All you really need to get jacks sound is (for the normal rockier tunes like Black Math and Girl You Have No Faith In Medicine) a hell of a lot of fuzz distortion and your guitar EQ set to bass 8, mid 5 and treb 7, through a single coil pickup to get the sharp attack.
    Jack and Meg are indeed "sweethearts of the blues." at least they were, they're losing their innocence and Icky Thump looks strange. a lot of their music bears hard rock, punk, pop and blues influence of many artists before them. Jack actually uses several pedals(EHX big muff distortion, DigiTech Whammy, BOSS compression sustainer(perhaps others, too)) despite what one of the reviews said. STILL, this is one of the best music DVDs out there. I would also recommend the Led Zeppelin The Song Remains The Same DVD.
    one moment that sums it up for me is when jacks just whacking away on A5 in black math, the camera gets a view of the stage from behind the moshing fans... magic