Then And Now: 1964-2004 review by The Who

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 30, 2004
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (2 votes)
The Who: Then And Now: 1964-2004

Sound — 10
Now you may think heck, it's a greatest hits album so it must be good. Right, wrong this album is more than just a greatest hits album it's a biography of what Rock and Roll really is. The Who forged new frontieers in Rock and Roll from rock operas to the windmill, The Who have done it all. This album has there best work which includes Pinball Wizard and Won't Get Fooled Again. The rythem section in this album (Drums: Keith Moon Bass: John Entwhistle) is amazing as in My Generation and Won't Get Fooled Again. Daltrey shows amazing vocal power in Love, Reign O'er Me and Townshend does his greatest guitar work in Summer Time Blues [Live] and Won't Get Fooled Again. If you looked up Rock and Roll in the dictionary you'd find this album. This is straight out rock.

Lyrics — 9
Lyrics are concidered most important by many. Townshend's lyrics are outstanding but what would his lyrics be without Daltreys emotion and vocal strength. Love Reign O'er Me as a mentioned is the greatest vocal performance by almost any artist. Townshend's lyrics just went hand in hand with Daltrey's singing. Even the last two songs released for promotion of Endless Wire had great lyrics. The only song with weak lyrics was Squeeze Box were Townshend got a bit lazy.

Overall Impression — 10
This album goes up there with other greatest hits including Led Zeppelin, Queen and The Rolling Stones. The greatest song from this album is Won't Get Fooled Again. With Moon and Entwhislte's impressive rythem and Townshend's power chourds, but who can forget about Daltrey's impressive vocal performance including the scream that may have changed rock and roll forever. Of all the albums I have this is probably the greatest one I will listen to it over and over again until I go deaf. Overall this is a modern day masterpiece.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date