Who's Last review by The Who

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 1, 1984
  • Sound: 6
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 4
  • Reviewer's score: 6.7 Neat
  • Users' score: 5.5 (2 votes)
The Who: Who's Last

Sound — 6
As a live album, it's pretty good sound quality. Pete Townshend's guitar very metallic sounding. Kenny Jones drums real good. Roger Daltrey's voice is worn though, not his best performing status. The stereo mix isn't great either. Very uneven, and low mixed drums. But the songs, ranging from 1964 to 1978, are all classics.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics were mainly written by Pete Townshend. The exeptions would be John Enwistle's "Boris The Spider" and the covers "Summertime Blues" and "Twist And Shout." The subject ranges from little pop tales of whimsy to samples from their rock opera projects. Classic lyrics.

Overall Impression — 4
This was recorded on their farewell tour in 1982, and released two eyars later. This was a group at the end of their rope. Exhausted. Troubled. Just tired of each other! So their final concerts were not their best. Kenny Jones, replacement to Keith Moon in 1979, plays his best, and just might be the standout on the album. The guitar sound is good, but the playign not Pete Townshend's best. Everybody else is just playing to play. Roger Daltrey's voice is worn and scratched. Them high notes are cruel. It's probably the last Who album anyone should get, just not too good.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date