These Birds Will Kill Us All review by The Zico Chain

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 12, 2009
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (2 votes)
The Zico Chain: These Birds Will Kill Us All

Sound — 9
It has been around 2 years since the bands last release debut album Food in 2007. Since that time they have toured with many bands such as velvet revolver and opened main stage at the download festival. After a bust up with the record label they found themselves, briefly, in limbo. But now they are back with more energy and more passion than what made them great in the first place. This 3 track EP is an unrelenting attack on the senses. At just over 6 minutes of music it is high octane hard rock at its best.

Lyrics — 9
The first track is titled Daycase. A fast hectic song full of manic energy. Very up tempo, almost upbeat catchy song. This song sits at around one and a half minutes long singing about drinking, fighting and getting thrown in jail. Epitomized in the line I'm a helpless daycase don't you know, All f**ked up with nowhere to go The second track is titled Bile N Blood and does not have the same amount of energy the previous track had, but it is just as catchy. This song features a tasty little guitar solo which is placed in the song beautifully. Lyrically speaking I do not know what this song is about but I think it may be about someone who enjoys destroying other people I get this impression from the chorus- I like to watch your fire burn The flames are so pretty I'll reign destruction in your world That brings you to our final track, the massive sounding These birds will kill us all. This song is unlike any other that the band has done before and shows an improvement in songwriting capabilities. The song builds up greatly to each chorus then again for the finale. Again, lyrically speaking, I have no idea what this song is about but that has not stopped me enjoying the song, quite the opposite. I have listened to this song many times and it still sounds, still feels as fresh as it did the first time I heard the song. I have to congratulate Chris on his drastic improved vocal skills. His voice sounds better than it ever has. His screams and shouts ooze with so much emotion and are tactically placed throughout the songs that they are just a pure delight to listen to. The lyrics and music fit each other like hand to glove, perfectly. This EP shows that the bands songwriting skills are improving and getting better. Paul's guitar work may not be extremely technical but when combined with Oli's chaotic drumming style and Chris's groovy bass lines it really flourishes.

Overall Impression — 9
The standout track is the title track purely because of the massive sound. If it wasn't for the fact that the word is thrown around so much nowadays I would call it epic. As they fell off the radar a little recently I believe they released this EP as a reminder that they are still very much alive and kicking. They are currently working on the new album and this serves as a taster and now I am hungry for more.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date