The Eraser review by Thom Yorke

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jul 11, 2006
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.6 (99 votes)
Thom Yorke: The Eraser

Sound — 9
Just as Yorke promised the album consist mainly of electronic beats, loops, synths and piano. The overall sound is quite "cold" and not too radio-friendly but highly atmospheric. Yorke's vocals flow really nice with all these electronic melodies. It's an album which needs a few listens before you fully understand and appriciate it, just like Radiohead's "Kid A" or "Amnesiac". It's got a strong melancholic and nostalgic aura and really sounds best when heard during the night. The music on this album takes you to places you've never been before and opens a completny new world if you only want to see it.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics on "The Eraser" are often very personal, but most of the songs take up the same topics as Radiohead's albums: globalisation, world degradation, the lack of understaing between people. They're often very enigmatic and probably no one besides Yorke knows their true meaning. As I said before the lyrics and Thom's voice match the music perfectly. Some of the most beautiful melodies that Yorke ever came up can be heard here.

Overall Impression — 9
"The Eraser" is maybe not a masterpiece but it's one of the best albums I've heard in some years. The standing out tracks are the title one and "Analyse", "And It Rained All Night", "Cymbal Rush" and the beautiful "Harrodown Hill". The album's production is excelent. It reaches it's full potencial when you hear it on 5.1 speakers, the music simply surrounds you and flows through you, it's something you just have to feel. Too bad the album is only 9 tracks long, and ends so fast.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date