Transit Of Venus review by Three Days Grace

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 2, 2012
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 7.3 (125 votes)
Three Days Grace: Transit Of Venus

Sound — 10
Three Days Grace have a much different sound on this record, it may take some time to grow on you. Adam hits notes that we have never heard him hit before, and the band has also started to experiment with a lot of new instruments. It seems like with "Life Starts Now" (The bands previous album) that the band was looking at the world through a sadder point of view. "Transit Of Venus" covers many new topics, like drinking problems, 16 year old runaways, etc. Overall, the sound is very different, with the new instruments and new point of view, but it is a good type of different.

Lyrics — 10
If anything, Adam Gontier's voice has gotten stronger. He hits notes that he never has before, and seems to flow with the music more. The lyrics also seem to have strong meanings. From singing about being compared to a piece of broken glass, to singing about how fast your life has gone by, Adam does a great job flowing with the music, and sending chills down your spine.

Overall Impression — 10
Some of the songs on "Transit Of Venus" are very different than the band's past work. These include "Time That Remains", "Sign Of The Times", and their rendition of Michael Jackson's "Give In To Me". "Time That Remains" is mainly an acoustic song, which is new for Three Days Grace, who usually have heavily distorted, Drop D tuned guitar. Sign of the Times is a great song, but has a very different feel than most of the band's past work. "Give In To Me" has a different sound, and I just found it surprising that the band would cover one of MJ's songs. So, overall, "Transit Of Venus" is a must-listen record, and is just as good as the band's past albums. It is a different sound, but Three Days Grace's strong point is that they never put out a boring album, so if you are a big fan, you will not be disappointed!

0 comments sorted by best / new / date