Vheissu review by Thrice

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 18, 2005
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 8.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9 (267 votes)
Thrice: Vheissu

Sound — 8
With Vheissu Thrice have once again expanded and improved on their sound. The album contains some of their heaviest material, but also their lightest giving it a great overall sound. As a whole it sounds much more mature, with the only major complaint being that the guitar seems to have lost it's intensity compared to The Illusion Of Safety or The Artist In The Ambulance. However, the inclusion of piano and synth on many tracks more than makes up for this, and shows the band's diversity.

Lyrics — 8
Dustin has once again proved himself. His mix of melodic clean vocals with gritty shouting are a great contrast to each other and make the album feel more varied. the lyrics are, as always, incredibly deep, with subtle messages hidden within. The lyrics also lack that manufactured sound that most other bands have, setting them high above the competition.

Overall Impression — 9
While this is not Thrice's best release it does what it set out to do: sound different from previous releases, while maintaining basic elements of what makes Thrice Thrice. Highlights of the album include For Miles, Atlantic, Red Sky and Stand And Feel Your Worth. Each song on the album is it's own, with an ease of transition between each track.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date