War All The Time review by Thursday

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 16, 2003
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.4 (13 votes)
Thursday: War All The Time

Sound — 8
Thursday are not a band that you can get into easily. Clearly, they are all extremely talented musicians, and not only do they distance themselves from the mainstream nu-metal obsession, but also appear to beak moulds within their own genre. Vocalist Geoff Rickly described this latest album as "having no hooks". After just one listen to any of Thursday's songs, not just from this album, it becomes clear that this is a band who are willing to stray from the obvious, forming their own distinct, slightly quasi-rhythmic style. This, however, is a good thing. When they get it right (as they usually do), it comes as a welcome and satisfying break from all the unoriginality and mindless noise that many other bands produce on a regular basis. It may take a while to get used to the sound, but if you're patient, and willing to look beyond the surface, then you will discover something quite remarkable.

Lyrics — 10
Lyrics are Thursday's strong point. Ignoring conventions of rhyming, rhythm, etc., Rickly writes his lyrics as poems rather than as straight songwords. This makes Thursday's music a lot less catchy, but gives the listener a more emotional, poetic experience. At first, this may sound a bit strange, but it allows more freedom of expression, and also showcases's Rickly's huge talent in this area. There are too many memorable lines to begin to list them all; it is also true that every song reads as a separate poem, and to accept the views and ideas presented, you sometimes have to listen to/read the lyrics of the whole song. However you look at it, there is no way that Thursday could be awarded anything less then Excellent for lyrical ability.

Overall Impression — 8
Thursday is not an easy band to describe. If you've heard past efforts, such as "Full Collapse", then you'll know what to expect from this album. It's simply more of the same - no innovations, nothing amazingly new. But for Thursday, this can only be a good thing. Their sound is so distinct that it is hard to improve. The same old formula of heartfelt vocals, with poetic lyrics and dark, pensive melodies takes Thursday one step closer to mainstream success. And with this album comes Thursday's first real attempt at a radio-friendly song (that's right, it even has a chorus), "Signals Over The Air". Along with the title track "War All The Time", possibly one of the most depressing songs I've heard in a while, this is the highlight. It's difficult to recommend Thursday to anyone, you'll either love them or describe them as "average". Once you get into them, though, you'll realise that It's so much more than emo. An impressive album. An impressive band.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date