Darker Days review by Time Again

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 18, 2008
  • Sound: 3
  • Lyrics: 2
  • Overall Impression: 2
  • Reviewer's score: 2.3 Junky
  • Users' score: 5.3 (7 votes)
Time Again: Darker Days

Sound — 3
Down at Hellcat Records bands follow a formulaic, and equally generic songwriting formula. This knack for doing so should not be scorned or derided; to the contrary, the 'punk' record label should be lauded, applauded and accredited for the sheer volume of identical albums it sells. Having followed Time Again's regression since their formation in 2004, it comes as no surprise that the band remains as incorrigibly dedicated to being another Rancid-clone as ever; a trait Tim Armstrong and co. do not appear to condemn. Musically, not one of these unapologetically bland tracks stands out, and Darker Days can only be recommended to masochists, medieval torturers, and comedians who are horribly out of ideas.

Lyrics — 2
This is a garrulous effort, and after a few listens, even the most patient listener will struggle to decipher what Time Again actually has to say. Moving On is a beaming ray of radiant light, the stand out track on this album. The lyrics are full of hope and optimism, as vocalist Daniel Dart bellows that It's three am and it's time for me to leave. Unfortunately, there are five tracks after the Moving On; it wasn't time to leave.

Overall Impression — 2
Rancid guitarist, Lars Frederiksen is reported to have been discussing Time Again when he said, "This is what punk is. This is a band that's gonna be around for a long time". Lars Frederiksen evidently needs his head checked, and one can only futilely hope in that the next Rancid album is not as vacuous, imbecilic and abysmal as Darker Days, but don't count on it.

4 comments sorted by best / new / date

    this is some of the best and most intelligent bashing i've heard in a long time. Well done
    hahah, wow, that was beautiful. The part about "Moving On" being a beaming ray of light especially; the punchline = cereal on my monitor.
    if you dont like punk you will not like the record, time again are punk at its best. if you dont understand what there about then your a very sad individual. its all about brotherhood and sticking together.
    whoever wrote this review probably habitually masterbates to freebird and stairway to heaven.