Opiate review by Tool

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 10, 1992
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.7 (47 votes)
Tool: Opiate

Sound — 8
For Tool's album first album I thought it was amazingly creative. The guitar riffs were really cool on songs like "Jerkoff" and "Hush." It is really hard to rate the sound because it came out in 1992 the recording wasn't really great. Like the bass you can't really hear, and unfortunately you can't hear the drums that well either. Eventhough there were some down sides to the sound the music is still great.

Lyrics — 10
MJK's lyrics are amazing any way you look at it. But on this album they seem to have a frustrated or angry feeling. My first impression of the lyrics was that they were immature but as you listen to Opiate more and actually think about the lyrics, they seem just as complex as any other Tool song.

Overall Impression — 10
The thing about Opiate is that there are 6 tracks but half of them are recorded live. The interesting thing is that they are so amazing that it doesn't sound like they were recorded live. All 6 songs are great and you can listen to the cd the whole way through and enjoy every song tremendously. This is a definate purchase for anybody who has at least 2 Tool albums.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date