The Traveling Wilburys, Vol. 1 review by Traveling Wilburys

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Oct 25, 1988
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 10 (4 votes)
Traveling Wilburys: The Traveling Wilburys, Vol. 1

Sound — 10
What happens when you put together artists such like George Harrison, Bob Dylan, Roy Orbison, Tom Petty and Jeff Lynne? A master piece, an incredible album. It's hard to think that it all began as an accident; Harrison was asked for a B-side for"This is Love", then he was hanging out with his pals and created "Handle With Care" too much for a B-side, they thought. Thus they had the idea of create an entire album, and the result is a great compilation of songs in wich there was no competition or leadership from no one(though they said it was George's band. The album has an old-basic-rock style, with a different feeling (they go from total happiness to a pure sadness)on each track and the contrast of voices. The music is based on acoustic guitars, and they add some brass, synth (Margarita) and kitchen sounds (drummer Jim Keltner playing the refrigerator, the windows, the oven).

Lyrics — 10
The Traveling Wilburys had a basic element: The best lyricist in the world Dylan, and he shows it in songs like Congratulations, Tweeter and The Monkey Man, and his contributios in many songs. Harrison fills the album with light and optimism with Heading for The Light, Handle With Care and the contributions of Petty, Orbison (wich is great on Not Alone Anymore, showing that he was still able to reach awesome vocal levels)and Lynne. The music prints an extra feeling to each lyric, with exact elements where they must go. There's always harmony between vocals, music and lyrics, though the voices of Petty or Dylan aren't so good, but they know how to send the messasge (and they do it very well).

Overall Impression — 10
All these characteristics make this album a unique piece, with a never heard collection of 5 musicians that built a whole new generation of music; all of this is reflected on Handle With Care, Not Alone Anymore, Congratulations, Heading For The Light and The End Of The Light. We can find the use of synth on Margarita a little bit annoying, and Last Night too repetitive, but in general all the song have elements to love them, and that makes you want to buying it a lot of times (if it disappears for some reason).

1 comment sorted by best / new / date