Singles review by Travis

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 2, 2004
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.7 (7 votes)
Travis: Singles

Sound — 9
Now what a compilation this makes. Everyone in the world must have heard of at least one Travis song. Who hasn't heard of "Why Does It Always Rain On Me" or "Flowers In The Window?" I thought so. Anyway, on to the music. Most of the greatest Travis songs are on here (albeit for "Somewhere Else", "Papercut" and "Pipe Dreams"). With "Sing", "Driftwood", "Writing To Reach You" and... I could list every track on the album. Every song is a gem in itself. Even some of the seemingly dated songs are still fresh, and just make you itch to hear some of their older stuff. This is a great album, keeping the sometimes miserable atmosphere to the songs, along with the great chord progressions and banjo playing (on "Sing" especially).

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics to each song are so very unique. No one else but Fran Healy could come up with lyrics like this, stick them into a song and pull them off at such a high standard. Witty, clever, stunning, astonishing. Whatever you want to call it, Healy is a genius when it comes to writing lyrics. The lyrics go extremely well with the music (most probably because it is Travis, after all) and the album makes for great listening. Can the singer sing? You'd be a fool if you thought he couldn't. In fact, Fran Healy has got one of the best live voices in the world at the moment.

Overall Impression — 10
Seeing as though it is a compilation of their singles, it surpasses all of the other albums with ease. The best songs are, well all of them really! Download/buy it, and you'll see what I'm talking about. Of course, the miserable atmosphere merged with the insatiable appetite for beautiful chord progressions make Travis who they are. Is there anything to hate about this album? (That was a rhetorical question). The answer, of course, is no. Would I buy it if it was lost? Absolutely. This is Travis at their upmost best.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date