A Silent Protest review by Trigger Point

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Sep 13, 2005
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 9.3 (6 votes)
Trigger Point: A Silent Protest

Sound — 8
Hailing from three different parts of the USA, Trigger Point was started right after 9/11 tragedy in 2001 by Mike Bashur (guitar), Dave Gentry (drums), and Taylor Wallace (vocals) with bassist Paul Kelly (bass) joining them in 2004. The band's been stubbornly playing late '90s, early '00s Korn and Deftones metal rock even when the genre started loose it's positions. And they finally got rewarded -- being singed to Corporate Punishment record label and releasing a debut album "A Silent Protest" in September 2005. As the reason for doing it the musicians are claiming as creating a "soundtrack for life." Quite an aggressive one I should say. As any hard-rock metalists, the album is based on all negative emotions the members of Trigger Points have in their hearts. Trigger Point has got much milder and pleasant sound than most of nowdays metal-rock bands. With quite aggressive music, they still keep the melody in mind. Guitars by Mike Baushur are traditionally heavy and distortion, though without a usual "proud" attitude of a metal play. With just one guitarist, the band still manages to have awesome guitar work, worth two guitar players. The guitars are well placed and there are some really good riffs on the album, like the one in "Away." Created by Dave Gentry, the drums are the highlight of the record. They are furious, pounding and double-kick, as in any metal act, but at the reasonable level -- not too extreme to actually being enjoyable. The outstanding piece is an upbeat "Nowhere To Be" with a distinguished machine drum solo. Some of the songs are pointing clearly to the band's roots and influences -- like "The Color Of Real" with a vivid Deftones appearance. Though slow intro "Please Stand By" that opens "A Silent Protest" would make a good soundtrack to Star Wars or any other '80s "cosmic" movie. The album is divided into two parts by a beautiful instrumental "His Final Breath." It's a nice filler played by strings and piano that gives you a little rest from a great tension of the album. It also fills in the gap of slow songs that most metal bands suffer from.

Lyrics — 7
Lyrics, being quite well thought out, are still about the same things some hundred metal bands sing about. Unfortunately, when it comes to lyricism, metal bands appear to be in a sad situation. You can listen love-songs for ages and never get sick of it, but listening to people suffering from something or moaning about something gets irritating at some point. On "Silent Protest" the record goes on well as long as you don't pay attention to the song meaning. Once you did, you start to yawn. Taylor Wallace has emotional powerful vocals. He switches from the melodic singing to aggressive soaring screamo easily, sometimes even without a small pause. Whether he's got fantastic singing abilities or the producer is a wizard is what to look for at the concert.

Overall Impression — 8
The musician's playing is so tight that it makes you doubt it's their debut LP. Overall this first opus attempt is very well-done without a usual "rawness" of the first records. It could well make a good sophomore album. As well as the lyrics, the composition is wisely thought-out. The album's got some strong tracks ("Picking Up The Pieces," "Silent Protest") as well as some that seem like fillers. Produced by Logan Mader (Machine Head, Soulfly), the record smoothly takes you from one track to another, appearing as a solid piece. The CD doesn't have something outstanding, but that's not to expect from a debut album. Most important the band manages to avoid usual criticism metal acts get -- they don't have repetitive nu-metal song structure and present quite a pleasant sound, assimilative for an average listener.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date