In Waves review by Trivium

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 9, 2011
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 8.3 (204 votes)
Trivium: In Waves

Sound — 8
Ever since Trivium came onto the metal scene they have had a lot of variations to their sound. From metalcore, thrash and even moments of prog metal, they have a unique sound in their own way (although highly controversial). With "In Waves", Matt Heafy told us they were going to approach a much simplier method to creating this album, so we knew it would be harder to top the complexity of "Shogun". They have definately gone back to their old roots. Much to people's disliking of it not sounding as good as "Ascendancy", this album gives off something different. It's a definate metalcore album but they have used almost all of their experimentational ideas with "The Crusade" and "Shogun" in this album and mixed it with their old-school way of writing. Corey and Matt have a good partnership with the guitars. Matt's rhythm's were brutal along with Corey's epic melodies and crazy licks make them a pair which should considered as one of the best in this day and age. This is also the album which introduces the new drummer Nick Augusto after Travis Smith departed. Nick brought something new to the table (although the use of blast beats do not bind well with Trivium) his drumming was solid throughout this album.

Lyrics — 7
As much as Matt Heafy isn't the most gifted lyricist. Their are some decent lyrics in this album and fit well with the music. In this album he does seem to repeat the song title or lyrics too much in songs, such as "Chaos Reigns" and "we are too far gone..." in "Of All These Yesterdays", making it repetitive and after a while, a little boring. But on the otherhand, this can make the song sound awesome like "Black" and "Watch The World Burn" His voice has yet again improved as it does with every album. Hands down he has one of the best screams in the new wave of heavy metal. The one attribute he didn't include as much, which he brought into "Shogun", are the harsh vocal but that's what makes songs like "Built To Fall" stand out from this album. I feel with the album, Matt was a little lazy, writing wise and in his execution, although he did create some enjoyable and epic melodies.

Overall Impression — 8
Is it in the same dimension as "Shogun" and "Ascendancy"? No, but this album should NOT be underestimated. It is a solid album with songs that will keep any diehard Trivium fan pleased. The songs that really stand out on this album are "Caustic Are The Ties That Bind", "Black", "Watch The World Burn", "Of All These Yesterday's", "Forsake Not The Dream" and "Built To Fall". From a personal diehard Trivium fan, this is a solid album that does deserve more credit than it's getting at the moment. It's not "Ascendancy", it's not "Shogun"... It's "In Waves" and that's what makes it a good album, it's different, it's exciting and a must buy.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date