The Joshua Tree review by U2

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 9, 1987
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.6 (46 votes)
U2: The Joshua Tree

Sound — 10
The Joshua Tree transformed U2 from a popular and pretty successful rock band to megastars and cultural icons. The Edge really created an unique sound with his Wall-of-sound-guitar and all sounds are perfectly worked out. All the songs are based on a simple rythms, but they always gives the right atmosphere and density. Bono's straight vocals mixed up with The Edge's perfect guitar and Larry Mullen and Adam Clayton's rythms, makes U2 one of the best bands ever.

Lyrics — 10
The Joshua Tree is a cd about politics, drugs, life, death and god. Bono is a great singer, who really means what he sings. "With or without you" was the first single and U2's first number one. "Running To Stand Still" is a song about ho it is to overcome a heroin addiction. The gospel song "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For" was the second number one hitsingle, and really shows what U2 is about. They are searching for answers, but no matter where they look, they still haven't found it.

Overall Impression — 10
The Joshua Tree is U2's greatest album ever. You can listen to hundreds of times and no other album in the same genre have ever reached U2's masterpiece. All the songs are great. It really worths to buy.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date