Seven Deadly review by UFO

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Feb 28, 2012
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 7
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 7.7 Good
  • Users' score: 9.3 (13 votes)
UFO: Seven Deadly

Sound — 8
As each day passes, the year 2012 seems to be the return of rock and roll, and the great hard rock band UFO is returning to help make this a fact. UFO's new release, "Seven Deadly", marks the band's twentieth studio album release, and the album shows that UFO only continues to progress and improve after 42 years of excellent rock music! Lead singer Phil Mogg can no longer hit the higher notes that dominated 70's hits "Doctor Doctor" and "Rock Bottom", but that does not stop him from rocking! In fact, this album shows the band moving into several different genres of music, which sound better with Phil's deeper singing voice!

The album kicks off with "Fight Night", which has a much heavier, hard rock sound as compared to the band's earlier efforts. For the first half of the song, Phil Mogg surprised me by singing with his signature, higher pitched vocals. This was an understandably hard but great effort by the great vocalist, and it is the only time he attempts to hit that signature UFO sound. I did not expect much from this song, let alone the rest of the album, as I was not a fan of the band's last studio album, "The Visitor". But thankfully, the band proved me wrong and were able to push out an entire great sounding album.

Songs such as "Year Of The Gun", "The Last Stone Rider", and "Burn Your House Down" are songs that sound as if Bruce Springsteen met AC/DC, with Phil Mogg singing in Springsteen style and great Angus Young-sounding guitar riffs. Songs like "The Fear" show the band experimenting with a blues-rock type of sound, while tracks "Angel Station" and "Waving Goodbye" bring the band to a slower, ballad-sounding rock. As much as Phil Mogg's classic vocals are missed, he as well as UFO have managed to create a great, 80's sounding album that keeps the listener engaged and ready for the next track.

Lyrics — 7
Phil Mogg's vocals are an excellent addition to the 2012 edition of UFO. Time has shown to have eroded his unique voice, but Phil manages to still give out a great performance. At times, it seems Phil has a great deal of difficulty when it comes to singing, especially as he alternates between pitches. We hear this most notably on the first track of the album, "Fight Night". However, when Mogg sticks to his deeper pitched voice for the rest of the album, his performance becomes more and more enjoyable as the album carries on. At times the lyrics become a little strange and tiresome, especially when Phil continues to talk about a monkey on "Wonderland". The lyrics also become very dark and sinister on tracks such as "Burn Your House Down", when Phil says, "I want to burn your house down. Sit right here and watch you drown". It seems that time and space has given UFO a darker side, but at the same time it makes the album experience perhaps that much more unique and enjoyable.

Overall Impression — 8
UFO burns through time and space to give another amazing addition to rock's 2012 revival. "Seven Deadly" is currently one of my favorite albums of 2012, as UFO gives an incredible performance with their new studio album. There are many great songs off this new release, but the songs that truly stand out have to be:

1. Fight Night
2. Burn Your House Down
3. Year Of The Gun
4. Waving Goodbye
5. The Fear

UFO has re-entered back through Earth's atmosphere to bring the world another excellent, classic sounding album, and it is one you must pick up.

7 comments sorted by best / new / date

    Lulz, 42 years. Ufo must hold a secret of some kind.. maybe they know The Ultimate Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, The Universe, and Everything..
    EpiExplorer wrote: Lulz, 42 years. Ufo must hold a secret of some kind.. maybe they know The Ultimate Answer to the Ultimate Question of Life, The Universe, and Everything..
    I see what you side there X) 42 lolz