They're Only Chasing Safety review by Underoath

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 15, 2004
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 9.3 (95 votes)
Underoath: They're Only Chasing Safety

Sound — 9
After the departure of original screamer Dallas Taylor (Now in Maylene & The Sons Of Disaster), Underoath were completed by Spencer Chamberlain. From the get go you notice the album is nowhere near as heavy as Underoath's early material, but its more progressive, more emotional, more catchy and more in the post-hardcore direction in terms of style. This is where the whole sing/scream vocals and post-hardcore style (that hundreds of bands adopt today), came from. Now, because "They're Only Chasing Safety" is what made Underoath shoot up into the stars among their genre I'll assume for those who read this you know the album or the bands other releases.

Lyrics — 9
Drummer and Singer, Aaron Gillespie, sounds as goods as he did on 02's "The Changing Of Times" (the very first album Aaron started to sing on) and when that's coupled with Spencer's high wailing screams you create a raw yet uncompromising sound. (Aaron also plays the drums quite well though on later albums he is more experimental and faster.) Spencer, on the other hand does not show his true vocal range, with pressure from fans and critics he decided to go with teh high screams instead of his natural loud, deep growls. Though its still great to hear him. guitarists and bassist, James Smith, Timothy McTague and Grant Brandell offer some pretty cool yet simplistic riffs which fit this album perfectly. However, Chris Dudley, their keyboardist/synthesizer, sometimes has his parts are drowned out by everything else. (see later and earlier Underoath releases to see were Chris plays a much larger part in the songs: "Disambiguation" and "Lost In The Sound Of Separation" and "The Changing Of Times.") The lyrics are quite deep and emotional, but uplifting and meaningful, this may be mainly due to the bands Christian background, but hey, lets not judge. Songs like "A Boy Brushed Red" and "Reinventing Your Exit" carry some deep stuff in them. Its no doubt the band wear alot on their sleeve, but this is what might really get into them, where as other bands might hide behind metaphors and such, Underoath tell it how it is.

Overall Impression — 10
Stand out tracks: "A Boy Brushed Red living in Black And White." "The Impact Of Reason." "It's Dangerous Business Walking Out Your Front Door." "I'm Content With Losing" "Reinventing Your Exit." In a couple of years this album will be considered a massive classic, if its not then that is a crime against music in general. It shows a band in their blossoming stage, for those who have heard their later albums you'll know what I mean. 9.5 out of 10.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date