Contraband review by Velvet Revolver

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jun 8, 2004
  • Sound: 8
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.9 (155 votes)
Velvet Revolver: Contraband

Sound — 8
I think the point of the formation of Velvet Revolver was to forget about the days of GNR and STP and move on and to change and to bring the music world some fresh new rock, well in a way the album succeds in doing so, though sometimes there influences from being in previous bands sticks out like a sore thumb to much, though in this day in age of Sum 41 and Green Day bands it's drasticly diffrent raunchy guitars, loud solos and popy drums set the tone for this album, and Slash remind us hes the king of all guitarist by showing hes still got cool riffs up his sleeve expecially so in Superhuman and Slither, and Scott delivers a good performance in all with a voice so angry and frustrated you can feel it.

Lyrics — 8
Scott really shows his talent here in really expressing everything hes been through in the last couple years or so. Hes expecially good when he hides the meaning to lyrics and makes you think about what just dose he mean? Ex. - "somebody riged by tapworm abortaion, come on all you b-- and deliver the cow." briillintly done. Thugh some of the lyrics I admit can be a bit to akward.

Overall Impression — 8
This album really is something fresh to todays music industry, yet most of it weve heard before in all the band members previous bands, by and large this album is worth the listen.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date