Bring On The Comets review by VHS or Beta

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Aug 28, 2007
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 5.6 (5 votes)
VHS or Beta: Bring On The Comets

Sound — 10
VHS or Beta itself has gone through many musical changes but not as extreme as on this album. They went from playing arthouse dance music to eighties synth. On this album they progressed into a diffrent state which probably has something to do with the departure of one of the original members Zeke Buck (guitarist).Bring On the Comets is a suprisingly upbeat album full of 80's indie rock/pop songs which probably has something to do with the singer/guitarist Craig Pfunder sounding a lot like Robert Smith on some songs.Yet despite the sound VHS or Beta don't for a second sound like they are ripping off or rehashing other bands material. The songs sound completely original and new laden with hooks and without any riffs or beats that sound out of place. Pfunder's guitar work, Palgy's funky basslines and the fact that drummer Guidry actually used a proper acoustic drumkit on the record.A great sound all round.

Lyrics — 9
Pfunder's lyrics while not up to the standards of great songwriters in music are usually quite decent and on this record they are no exception. He tackles deception and mistrust on the single Can't Believe a Single Word, offers of friendship on Take It or Leave It and anger at society in general on Burn It All Down. Pfunder's singing skills are unusual but suit this album perfectly and as previously mentioned he can on some occasions sound a little like Robert Smith but either the songs were written to suit his voice or he was completely determined to make his voice suit the music because they fit together seamlessly.

Overall Impression — 10
This album while not a giant world changing epic is nonetheless a very good effort from a talented band.The most impressive songs on this record would have to be the hook laden single Can't Believe a Single Word, Take It or Leave it and fantastically mournful title track Bring On the Comets.This album has no real downside as all the songs are perfectly crafted the only flaw that could be considered is the few instumentals that dot the album, while interesting themselves they are best listened to in the context of the whole album rather than single tracks. If it was stolen or lost I would definately buy it again it's a solid album.

6 comments sorted by best / new / date

    i like the song "cant believe a single word" but havent heard too much else...from what your review says, this album sure doesnt deserve a 9.7, i was thinking more a mid 7. you gotta raise your standards buddy. there is so much music out there that actually deserves the 9's and 10's
    Rock Boy
    Why can't those who write reviews for UG realize that there are not only two ratings: 9s and 10s? There's a reason why the scale goes from 1 - 10!
    lol i'm quite aware of the rating scale and how this album matches up against others but i'm basing this review on my opinion which is basically what a review is you can judge it for yourself this is just my take on it