All Systems Go review by Vinnie Vincent Invasion

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 17, 1988
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 9.3 (4 votes)
Vinnie Vincent Invasion: All Systems Go

Sound — 10
In 1988, Vinnie Vincent and his band Vinnie Vincent Invasion released their 2nd and final studio album "All Systems Go". It was the first and only album to feature vocalist Mark Slaughter, since the band broke up shortly after with vocalist Mark Slaughter and bassist Dana Strum going on to form the band Slaughter. Out of the two albums Vinnie Vincent had as a solo artist after being fired from KISS this was the most successful. The song "Love Kills" was featured in "A Nightmare On Elm Street 4: The Dream Master". The sound on this album was a lot cleaner then the first album 1986's "Vinnie Vincent Invasion" which featured former Journey vocalist Robert Fleischman. Comparing the quality of this album to the first is like comparing the quality of Metallica's "Kill 'Em All" to "Ride The Lightning". The songs on this gave the normal Vinnie Vincent guitar sound and tone with a heavier rhythm section. On the songs "Ashes To Ashes", "Burn", "Let Freedom Rock", "That Time Of Year", and "Heavy Pettin'" you get a hard-edged glam metal sound with guitar shredding sound that's almost like a more effect-driven version of Michael Angelo Batio.

Lyrics — 10
When most people think of Mark Slaughter they of his band Slaughter which debut in 1990. Comparing his work on the first two Slaughter albums from 1990 and 1992 to this album though is like comparing night and day. The vocal range Mark sings with is something rarely to never heard on the Slaughter material. Mark delivers a 4 octave scream throughout the album putting him up there with Nitro vocalist Jim Gillett and many others with the highest vocal range of the Hair Metal genre (Drummer Bobby Rock would later play with Jim Gillette and Michael Angelo Batio in Nitro after Vinnie Vincent Invasion disbanded). The lyrics of the album matched Slaughter's vocal perfectly allowing him to deliver the songs with the right amount of power and range that he puts out on these songs making it of the late 80s era of the L.A. Hair Metal scene.

Overall Impression — 10
When most people think of Vinnie Vincent they think of how bad he f***ed up while in KISS forgetting about what he did after with this band. If you loved KISS's albums "Creatures Of The Night" (1982) and "Lick It Up" (1983), which were the two albums Vincent played on while in KISS, you'll love these. With Invasion, Vinnie was the show his true talent which he wasn't able to do while in KISS. It's a good thing he wasn't able to show it while in KISS and not because he isn't good it just wouldn't have fit with the music of KISS. This album is great and with Vinnie making a fool out of himself with court cases against KISS members Paul Stanley and Gene Simmons over copyright stuff and spousal abuse charges it's making more people want to forget about the underrated guitarist rather than remember him.

3 comments sorted by best / new / date

    I remember picking up this cassette way back when, it was great then. reading about the songs brought back a lot of memories from just cruising around. Might have to track this CD down now.
    Vinnie on "All Systems Go" sounds like a mix between Michael Angelo and Steve Vai,.I'm not really a fan of either one but I love Vinnie on this CD,.He takes both styles and melds them into a very interesting ride,.You never know what he is going to do next,.This album has some pretty cheesy songs and lyrics,.but the musicianship(drummer really does some quality stuff also) is so good that you really don't care,.I wish they had done one more  album together,.This shyte ROCKS!