Voivod review by Voivod

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Mar 4, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 8
  • Reviewer's score: 8.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 10 (3 votes)
Voivod: Voivod

Sound — 10
This is practically "THE" metal band that is successful with only just one drummer,one lead guitar,one bassist and one lead singer. Jasonic's excellent bass playing ensures the smooth thrash/speed metal style of VOIVOD, making a hit comeback in recent years. Piggy's lead guitaring ensures a smooth rhythem with Away's drum beat. Snake's voice is a strong reminder that VOIVOD is a band that has to be respected with.

Lyrics — 8
The lyrics are a very complex work that may not be understandable by most, however, if you listen to the song again and again, you will probabbly find that the song's genre is about the future.Take for example, "We Carry On" A song mostly about their return to the music industry and their up's and down's. The rhythem is good and there is no doubt that this is the most successful album since.

Overall Impression — 8
This is by far the best comback album yet for the thrash/speed metal listeners. VOIVOD has seen an immense popularity surge when ex-Metallica Basssist JasoN Newsted filled up for the bass in their self titled album. With a futuristic style and speed metal genre, this one is a must for die-hard fans!!!

1 comment sorted by best / new / date