Make Believe review by Weezer

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 10, 2005
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 8.2 (101 votes)
Weezer: Make Believe

Sound — 10
Weezer has been going strong 14 years and their 5th album, "Make Believe," only goes to prove that they show no signs of stopping. This album has a single that gives off an atmosphere that gets everyone energetic called "Beverly HIlls," a great song. "Perfect Situation" and "Pardon Me" add an element of keyboard, a new element with Weezer, while "Peace" mixes acoustic style with electric fills. "We Are All On Drugs" brings back the memorable style used on the song "Hash Pipe" from the Green Album. This album is full to the brim with great variety that is sure to please.

Lyrics — 10
The lyrics show that Weezer has matured over time with its ever growing audience of 14 years, and even most of the newcomers are relating or mellowing out enjoying the tunes! The music and the lyrics complement each other with an almost heavenly perfection. The lead singer, Rivers Cuomo, is talented with an awe inspiring voice that is more singled out and stressed upon this album and makes it even more memorable. These lyrics are touching and easy to relate to for anyone who finds life just a bit off what the Hollywood perfect life is, but won't bring you down in a funk like other artists stuff.

Overall Impression — 10
This album puts just about any artist to shame, ranging from Nelly to Stevie Ray to Green Day to Dave Matthews Band. Their passion, intensity, and musical genius while being completely original and following nobody's style or a formula seem to end up in this little round disc of perfection I call "Make Believe."

0 comments sorted by best / new / date