Poodle Hat review by "Weird Al" Yankovic

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: May 20, 2003
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.3 (21 votes)

Sound — 10
I love this CD. Weird Al uses tons of different styles to make the songs. Hip-hop in "Couch Potato" and "Trash Day," hard rock in "Party At The Lepper Colony" and "Genius In Fance," polka in "Angry White Boy Polka" hence the name, a slow techno-ish beat in "Wanna B Ur Lovr," some folkish stuff in "Ode To A Superhero," and many more. Of couse there are lots of halarious parodies. I am also quite impressed with his bands sound, they're really quite good.

Lyrics — 9
Extremely clever as always. In this category everything is pretty standard for Weird Al. Funny, smart, and catchy. And the lyrics to the song "Bob" are all palindromes (words or phrases that are spelled the same way backwards and forwards. ex. Too hot to hoot). If only there were more tracks.

Overall Impression — 10
Going with the suggested questions that are on this form, if this was stolen, I would totally buy it again. I love everything about this album. I was also very impressed with "Bob" and also "Why Does This Always Happen To Me?"

0 comments sorted by best / new / date