Greatest Hits review by Whisperwall

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 9
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.8 (4 votes)
Whisperwall: Greatest Hits

Sound — 9
Whisperwall are a new generation of rock music addicts whose Greatest Hits album, though only 5-tracks in length, is enough to show that the band lives and breaths this stuff day in and out. Their music has a pop punk might demonstrated in their song Taking This Over, and energetic rock frequencies relatable to Puddle Of Mudd in their tune Memphis. Whisperwall plunges into melodic rock channels along The Only Way To Keep You Safe soaking up the tiers in soaring vocal rises by lead singer Justin Mathenia and sturdy rafters held upright by the rhythmic thrusts of bassist Aaron Peipert and drummer Byron Beiermann. The punk rock surges in the guitars by Mathenia and Frankie Zarantonello have the magnum power of Crossfade in tracks like A New Way and Dallas, but before you know it, the album is finished and you're waiting for the disc to start over again. It's that kind of an album.

Lyrics — 9
Whisperwall's lyrics are about bouncing back from bad situations, keeping a positive outlook and having the will of a champion. The words in Dallas portray this sheer persistence, We all live and learn / I guess I'm just the kind that has to live it twice / I refuse to be forgotten, but you'll see how fast I'll never remember you / Let the road claim your soul and sing you a song of forgiveness.

Overall Impression — 9
Whisperwall's Greatest Hits record is truly for fans of power rock. Their shallots of punk and melodic escalations widened the band's repertoire, but Whisperwall's music keeps a rock steady consistency. If they are ever given a chance to break out of their local mid-west America parameters, they will be another name that you'll see on the wall of famous rock 'n' rollers. Their sound is pure rock which burns brightly in their bellies. Whisperwall's lead singer Justin Mathenia and drummer Byron Beiermann are still in the band, but the other members have been replaced. Now, Brian Hutchinson and Jay Hollinger are on guitars and Jarid Mathenia plays bass.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date