Distance [EP] review by With Confidence

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 13, 2015
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.7 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.7 (6 votes)
With Confidence: Distance [EP]

Sound — 10
Australian pop rock band With Confidence have seen rising popularity over the last few years. With the release of their debut musical work the "Youth" EP in 2013 the band saw a growing fan base and support from other Australian and international artists, being the local support band for rock bands; 5 Seconds of Summer, The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus & The Getaway Plan, following "Youth"'s release. Now it's 2015 and the band has released a brand new five track album. The "Distance" EP, featuring the single "I Will Never Wait" and four other catchy rockin' tunes has increased the band's influence, fan base and popularity. 

Released on January 13th 2015 Sydney-based rock band With Confidence have released an amazing compilation of songs with a fresh new pop rock sound. The four piece band have created a bigger and better sound with the a heavy, fun, rock sound, with the introduction of guitarist Luke Rockets helping in such. The album has a more solid, filled sound compared to the "Youth" EP and they seem to be a much tighter band both in the studio and on stage. Singer/bassist Jayden Seeley presents a very talented series of vocal work on the album, with the assistance of course, of backing vocalist/guitarist Inigo Del Carmen. Along with drummer Joshua Brozzesi the band provides a very impressive rock album and performance that with brilliant drumming, great vocals and spectacular guitar and bass work. Unlike most bands With Confidence seem to highlight the importance of bass in their songs with moments such as in the opening verse of opening track "Take Me Away," a guitar dropout allows us to here the talented J. Seeley at work.

Lyrics — 9
Lyrically, all of these songs are very solidly and brilliantly written. The band's work in lyrics and how they are presented within the song is exceptional and vital in the presentation of all of these songs. Rock ballad "London Lights," highlights the importance of these lyrics in the songs placing them above the instrumentation in the song, whilst still capturing the catchy hard rocking atmosphere that the other songs on the album present. The album's single "I Will Never Wait" is a brilliant track capturing the hard rocking, fast paced energy of the band, which is even more-so captured in their live performance. Along with all the other tracks on the album, "Drive," "Take Me Away," "London Lights" and "Godzilla" the band have created a solid, thorough and entertaining EP that captivates the listener in a good feeling, up tempo, rock atmosphere that keeps you listening to the album over and over and over again.

Overall Impression — 10
"Distance" presents a very impressive growth and maturity in the band and proves that this band can continue to grow and improve. The album presents a very solid track listing of 5 brilliant songs that all work and fit together as an album and capture and further convey the band's hard-loud pop rock sound. 

With works of the quality of that on both the "Youth" and "Distance" EPs they are set to release a very impressive, quite successful and amazingly put together full-length album, which hopefully, the band can put together soon as we are all VERY impatiently waiting for it.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date