Lights And Sounds review by Yellowcard

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Jan 24, 2006
  • Sound: 10
  • Lyrics: 10
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 10 Gem
  • Users' score: 7.5 (205 votes)
Yellowcard: Lights And Sounds

Sound — 10
Yellowcard kicks it up a notch in their sounds. Rather than starting really fast, they play 'Three Flights Up' as their intro, which is a combination of the piano and the violin. It starts slow, but it ends fast with 'Holly Wood Died.' All the songs are well arranged, as it follows the story of the fictional character Holly Wood, which many presume is the epitome of a typical celebrity life. The album has a series of fast songs, then melancholic ones, then a mix of the two to better portray the story told. Did I mention kick it up a notch? Yes, they did. Sean Mackin has officially turned the violin into a multi-genre instrument with his performances in 'Lights and Sounds', fiddling fast enough to catch up with LP's drumming. Ryan Mendez, the new guitarist, takes Ben Harper's spot and keeps the band's music original as the other ones.

Lyrics — 10
Ok, Yellowcard has greatly matured in this album. Maybe one or two songs about girls, but like I said earlier, the whole album revolves around the story of Holly Wood, a fictional character representing celebrity life. Yellowcard has made unique lyrics to fit the whole story, and Ryan Key once again efficiently draws out the songs' meanings with his vocals.

Overall Impression — 10
This is simply an upgraded Yellowcard album, complete with everything and more that makes up Yellowcard. The songs are really good, and 'Rough Landing, Holly' is a personal favorite. If you're lucky to get the CD/DVD, you get a lot more than great Yellowcard music. I can't say that it's better than the past, because each album Yellowcard had have their own unique characteristic, which makes this album really good, as it tells a mature story about the life we just might take for granted, like a celebrity's.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date