Alchemy review by Yngwie Malmsteen

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 23, 1999
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 9
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9.3 Superb
  • Users' score: 7.7 (11 votes)
Yngwie Malmsteen: Alchemy

Sound — 9
This is one of Yngwie's later works and apparently a very good one. Prior to purchasing the album, I had already heard one or 2 of the songs, of which I like very much (both instrumentals). Upon listening to the entire album, I realized that Yngwie's sound had progressed very much over the course of the first 20 years or so of his career. The overall sound of this album is as usual, signature to Yngwie's style but has some new original musical concepts and ideas that are exemplified amongst the tracks of the whole album. Very solid rock/metal-style album without compromising the shred playing that has been characteristic of Yngwie from the beginning. However, one surprising element of this album is its heavier sound compared to the earlier works. Nonetheless, this is definitely a part of Yngwie's catalogue that's well-worth checking out for any Yngwie or shred fan.

Lyrics — 9
The lyrics seem much more original, and serious this time around. Mark Boals performs with great range and feeling that's very reminiscent of his earlier work with Yngwie on "Trilogy", although the songs on "Alchemy" are a bit slower than on "Trilogy". The lyrics and songs seem to follow a theme in this album all to which "Alchemy" proves to be a well-deserved title for. As usual, the vocals on this album, like many Yngwie singers must prove, have a good sense of melody and flow and surely make a great addition to Yngwie's vocal tunes.

Overall Impression — 10
Unlike most of his works during the '90s, "Alchemy" seems to stand out over the entirety of Yngwie's career. A great album for fans, "Alchemy" steers in a direction that's familiar to the earlier efforts such as the above-mentioned "Trilogy" and "Marching Out" and could easily impress Yngwie fans and shred fans alike. As far as songs go, "Blitzkrieg" (the opening track) as well as "Blue" stick out very much. Vocal songs such as "Demon Dance", "Wield My Sword" & "The Stand" are very good examples of Yngwie's composing and playing chracteristic of his music and the shred genre. The entire album is full of anthems that seem competitive even in mainstream music. Another interesting track is "Asylum". A three-part instrumental that flows very well and ends in a piece titled "Quantam Leap" meant to serve as a leap to the new millenium which proves very effective (the original release date being 1999). A great album that shred fans will love and Yngwie fans will equally come to cherish, this is a part of Yngwie's career that won't easily be forgotten.

1 comment sorted by best / new / date