Panty Raid review by Zebrahead

logo Ultimate Guitar
  • Released: Nov 4, 2009
  • Sound: 9
  • Lyrics: 8
  • Overall Impression: 10
  • Reviewer's score: 9 Superb
  • Users' score: 8.6 (5 votes)
Zebrahead: Panty Raid

Sound — 9
'5 grown men cover 15 girl songs' As it says on the bands myspace. Each song from this album sounds totally unique. They are all recognizable songs that zebrahead has suited perfectly to their punk style. Some songs such as 'Underneath it all'(No Doubt), 'Girlfriend'(Avril Lavigne) and 'Mickey'(Toni Basil) sound like Zerbrahead in 2006 on Broadcast to the world, with their upbeat catchyness. Others like 'Survivor'(Destinys Child) and 'Spice up your life'(Spice Girls) have a slightly darker sound, with a lot more of Ali's rapping style vocals.

Lyrics — 8
Difficult to rate lyrics on a cover album as none of it was written by the band. Zebrahead have however altered the music significantly, and it fits well in each song, with a variety of Ska, Punk, Rap and Rock styles used throughout. The vocal styles of Matty and Ali work well with each of the songs.

Overall Impression — 10
This is probably the best album I've purchased in a long time. Comparing it with MxPx's recent 'on the cover 2', I think Zebraheads cover album is much more unique and varied. Best songs on this album in my oppinion are 'Underneath it All'(No Doubt), 'Rehab'(Amy Winehouse) and 'Beautiful'(Christina Aguilera), with 'Sweet escape'(Gwen Stefani), 'Girlfriend'(Avril Lavigne) and 'Girls just want to have fun'(Cyndi Lauper) also definately worth listening to.

0 comments sorted by best / new / date